Article by Djuradj Vujcic
Photo by Renny Harlan

Top row: Marko Kostic, Marko Krasic, Petar Planic, Ivan Cendic, Stefan Milosevic, Nikola Timotijevic and Uros Stamatovic (head coach)

Bottom row: Marko Stajic, Marko Orosic, Yasin Shahwan, Nikola Djurkovic and Srdjan Simovic

The inaugural Royal CSL Cup was held today at the Mattamy Sports Park in Mississauga between the Toronto Falcons and our Serbian White Eagles. The match finished 0-0 at full-time with the Toronto Falcons taking the Cup after coming out on top 5-4 on penalty kicks.

The one-match remembrance event was played in memory of Enio Perruzza who passed away unexpectedly on January 15, 2021 at the age of 54. Perruzza announced over 3,000 mostly Canadian Soccer League and Ontario Cup matches over two decades. Known in the soccer community in southern Ontario as the voice of the CSL, Perruzza was a popular fixture with the league for more than twenty years and a favourite of many in the Canadian soccer community.

The memorial trophy competition had originally been scheduled to be played at the end of the 2022 season but was postponed to early this season. Kickoff time was 4:00 PM while the CSL regular season will begin on May 28.

Head coach Uros Stamatovic allowed the opportunity for experienced Serbian internationals Dejan Koraksic and Stefan Milosevic to make their debut for our club in this match while we could also notice another familiar face – Vitomir Jelic who captained our club from 2014 to 2020.

Falcons penalty kicks were scored by Vasyl Matviyshin, Yaroslav Solonynko, Serhiy Pitel, Andriy Sukhetskyi and Yevhen Osypenko while Serbian White Eagles scorers were Marko Krasic, Stefan Milosevic, Nikola Djurkovic and Marko Stajic.

“Enio’s service to the game in Canada was considerable. He was very well liked both for his contribution to the game and his pleasant personality which did not change when challenged by health issues. He had a smile always,” said president Dragan Bakoc.


Serbian White Eagles: Marko Kostic, Ivan Cendic, Petar Planic, Srdjan Simovic, Nikola Timotijevic, Nikola Djurkovic, Marko Orosic, Marko Stajic, Yasin Shahwan, Marko Krasic and Stefan Milosevic.

Toronto Falcons: Vasyl Shpuk, Pasha Shulgan, Yaroslav Nidzelsky, Stanislav Olezhik, Yevhen Osypenko, Serhiy Pitel, Andrii Dulibskyi, Andrii Sukhetskyi, Vasyl Matviyshin, Igor Fedyshyn and Danil Rodin.